Ideas on increasing work efficiency

It’s not long since I’ve noticed some increase in my work efficiency and I got to ask myself what could have caused this.

Related or not, here are some ideas on how to improve your work:

  • personal: develop habits that you:
    • find useful
    • would like
    • think are matching your personality

some examples:

    • I wake up at 5 AM and I spend a full hour for checking emails and basically slacking off: 9gag, blogs etc. I used to do nothing for hours after because I was forcing myself to “work”
    • I never work while I eat, no matter how much stuff I have to do: this way I have a healthy digestion and a bit more relaxed ‘me’ afterwards
  • IT: get organized on the IT side
    1. use a gmail account and get used to its features (multiple inboxes, labels, filters etc)
    2. use Google Calendar – today i is the industry standard more or less and it syncs to anything
    3. use Google Tasks
      • why?
      • extension for chrome
      • most popular “agenda” software syncs with Google tasks: Astrid, Remember the milk et cetera (more here)
    4. use Facebook Groups and Google Docs for small teams and small projects like school assignments
    5. get your bookmarks organized; for example, I:
      • probably reorganize my bookmarks each month
      • have two sections in the bookmarks bar:
        • sites I visit every day: ’email’, ‘tech’, ‘fun’, ‘devlife’ etc
        • folders I use to archive other links ‘epic-posts’, ‘job12’, ‘interests’ etc
    6. notepad++ is a great tool for sketching ideas, drafts, lecture notes, todo lists (because when it starts it shows the same tabs as last time); moreover, it’s the #1 Windows editor used by developers [12]
  • security: get your data protected
    • back up everything on an external HDD (rather cheap) and/or online (usually more expensive) on services like Dropbox
    • use Google’s 2-step verification login; it may be a bit inconvenient but this article will probably convince you to do it
    • (related to the previous article) start using free services like LastPass or alternatives
2 thoughts on “Ideas on increasing work efficiency

  1. pentru mine cel mai important avans legat de productivitate a fost sa recunosc faptul ca nu sunt productiv tot timpul. de fapt, am foarte putine perioade din saptamana (!) cand sunt productiv.. insa atunci cand am “the vibe” i keep it going as long as possile, fara pauze, masa, somn sau orice altceva.. desigur, nu-i sanatos.. but it works for now..

    un alt sfat bun e sa-ti setezi niste goal-uri realiste pt zi si apoi sa le realizezi. in felul asta poti simti cu adevarat progresul, fara sa te impovarezi cu o cantitate “infinita” din care nu reusesti sa faci decat o bucatica.

    p.s. : toate cele de mai sus sunt culese de prin post-uri de pe lifehacker, so if you read that, you might feel that i’m plagiarasing 🙂

Leave a Reply

